Killers of President-Elect Bachir Gemayel Sentenced to Death

On September 14, 1982, President-Elect Bachir Gemayel was assassinated at the headquarters of the Kataeb Party in Achrafieh. The detonation bomb did kill not only Gemayel but also many other bystanders. 35 years later, more precisely on October 20, the killers of the President-Elect were sentenced to death and stripped of their civil rights in absentia. The killers are Habib Shartouni and Nabil Alam. The latter helped Shartouni to plan the attack. The Head of the Judicial Council, Judge Jean Fahed, said that this assassination was one of the factors that destabilized the country which was heading towards the better. In fact, Shartouni confessed to planning the assassination in 2016. He was given 24 hours to turn himself in. However, he didn’t. The leaders and politicians of many political parties went to Sassine Square to celebrate the verdict which was issued by the court. The son of Bachir Gemayel, Nadim Gemayel, gave a speech during the event. The Lebanese people are waiting for justice to be served to the other politicians and the innocent bystanders that were killed in a series of assassinations starting 2004 such as: Rafic Hariri, Samir Kassir, Georges Hawi, Gebran Tueini, Pierre Gemayel, Walid Eido, Antoine Ghanem, Francois Hajj, Wissam Eid, Saleh Aridi, Kamal Naji, General Wissam Al Hasan, and Mohamad Chatah. An-Nahar published the full verdict. You can read it