Lebanese-Canadian Author Awarded by the Writers’ Trust of Canada

Born in Beirut in 1964, Canadian-Lebanese author and poet Rawi Hage has published journalism and fiction in several Canadian and American magazines, and in the PEN America Journal. Hage is currently based in Canada.


@citramgarembedded via  

His debut novel De Niro’s Game, published in 2006, won the 2008 International Dublin Literary Award. It was shortlisted for both the 2006 Scotiabank Giller Prize and the 2006 Governor General’s Award for English fiction.

Commenting on their selection, the Dublin Literary Award judges remarked that “its originality, its power, its lyricism, as well as its humane appeal all mark De Niro’s Game as the work of a major literary talent and make Rawi Hage a truly deserving winner.”


De Niro’s Game was also awarded two Quebec awards: the Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction and the McAuslan First Book Prize. De Niro’s Game was so popular that it was even translated into Arabic by author Ruhi Tu’mah two years after it was published.

His second novel, Cockroach, was published in 2008 and was also shortlisted for the Giller Prize, the Governor General’s Award, and the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize.

@sophia_storiesembedded via  


Rawi went on winning the Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction in 2008 and 2012 for his books Cockroach and Carnival, respectively. In August 2013, he was named Vancouver Public Library’s Ninth Writer in Residence.

Rawi is the common-law partner of novelist Madeleine Thien. His 2018 novel Beirut Hellfire Society was named as a longlisted nominee for the Giller Prize, and a shortlisted finalist for both the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and the Governor General’s Award for English-language fiction. In 2019 he won the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award from the Writers’ Trust of Canada. 

@antoine_onlineembedded via  


The Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award is a Canadian literary award presented by the Writers’ Trust of Canada to an established Canadian author to honor his or her body of work. 

The award is presented to one author, who may be either a man or a woman, annually. The award comes with a monetary prize of $25,000.

Via AZ Quotes


Follow us on Instagram @the961 and on Twitter the961com. Also, join us on Facebook @The961Lebanon to engage with our fans in Lebanon and across the world.

Share this article with your friends!

Not now
Share via
Don\'t Miss Out!