Lebanese Sports Writer Youssef Berjaoui Was Recognized By FIFA For Covering 10 World Cups

Talal Salman

The Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) and the International Sports Press Association (AIPS) held an honoring ceremony in Doha, Qatar for 82 veteran football journalists from all over the world that have covered at least 8 men’s World Cups.

During the “Journalists on the Podium” event, which celebrated longevity in sports journalism, the Brazilian football icon Ronaldo Luis Nazario de Lima presented the journalists with an award representing a small replica of the FIFA World Cup trophy.

Among the 82 journalists awarded was the Lebanese sports writer Youssef Berjaoui who was recognized for covering 10 World Cups. He did so in a journey that began in the 1982 World Cup in Spain, leading to the historic Qatar World Cup, which is being held for the first time in the Middle East.

“It is important to remember our work and to recognize the commitment of all our colleagues, which is why, in previous years, we created this event during all the important sporting events,” said AIPS President Gianni Merlo.

Berjawi has previously received the Silver Order of Merit from former Lebanese President Michel Aoun at Baabda Palace. He also received several international, Asian, and Arab certificates of appreciation.

Share this article with your friends!

Not now
Share via
Don\'t Miss Out!