Lebanon Registered 103 Electoral Lists For The Upcoming 2022 Elections

Lebanon Elections Explained

On Monday at midnight, the registrations of electoral lists for the May 15 Parliamentary Elections closed with 103 lists registered.

There was initially a total of 1,043 registered candidates, however, 42 of them later withdrew their candidacy.

North Lebanon (second district) registered the largest number of lists (11 lists) while the third district of Southern Lebanon registered the smallest number (3 lists).

Interior Minister Bassam Mawlawi held a press conference after the registration closed, and said that “the number of registered lists for the 2022 elections is 103, which exceeded the number recorded in the 2018 elections with 77 lists.”

He added that there are 118 women on the electoral roll, noting that “this is the first time that women’s participation has been high.”

The registered candidates will run for the 128 seats for a 4-year mandate. The voting will take place in Lebanon on Sunday, May 15th, and in the diaspora on May 6th or May 8th depending on the cities of their residence.

The number of lists registered per district:

  • Beirut I (Ashrafieh, Saifi, Rmeil, Medawar): 6
  • Beirut II (Ras Beirut, Minet el Hosn, Dar El Mrayse, Mazraa, Msaytbe, Zkak El Blat, Bachoura, Port): 10
  • Mount Lebanon I (Keserwan, Jbeil): 7
  • Mount Lebanon II (Matn): 6
  • Mount Lebanon III (Baabda): 7
  • Mount Lebanon IV (Chouf, Aley): 7
  • South I (Saida, Jezzine): 7
  • South II (Tyr, Saida Villages): 4
  • South III (Bent Jbeil, Nabatieh, Marjeyoun, Hasbaya): 3
  • Bekaa I (Zahle): 8
  • Bekaa II (West Bekaa, Rachaya): 6
  • Bekaa III (Baalbek – Hermel): 6
  • North I (Akkar): 8
  • North II (Tripoli, Minieh, Donniyeh): 11
  • North III (Zgharta, Bcharre, koura, Batroun): 7

Support our independent media! Become a Patron!

Lebanon Registered 103 Electoral Lists For The Upcoming 2022 Elections

Share this article with your friends!

Not now
Share via
Don\'t Miss Out!