Nemr Is Hosting An Online Telethon With Celebrities To Raise Money For Lebanon

Nemr And Other Celebrities Will Be Live Tonight To Raise Money For Lebanon
Instagram/Chadi Feghali | AFP

Be ready to tune in on Sunday, August 16th for an important online fundraiser that will be hosted by comedian Nemr Abou Nassar for the benefit of the Lebanese Red Cross (LRC) and the support of the afflicted Lebanese people.

The event, trending as #SupportLRC, will be live-streamed starting 9 PM Beirut time (see the end of this article for other timezones) and will continue for an undetermined number of hours to raise funds for the LRC.

Nemr, who announced the fundraiser earlier this week, said that the stream will be long and will involve “a ton of celebrities; everybody that I can talk to, everyone that I know,” in addition to Red Cross “heroes from the ground in Lebanon.”

With that said, he issued a plea to any celebrity, influencer, or public figure who has a large social media following to join the stream and help amplify the impact of the fundraiser to provide as much money as possible to the LRC.

The online event will be hosted on Nemr’s YouTube, Twitch, and Facebook channels (NEMRCOMEDY).

“I’m going to keep it going as long as we have that momentum going and the donations are coming in,” Nemr said.

He noted that the fundraiser will not be depending on people in Lebanon for donations, seeing that “they have enough of their own issues” to deal with in the aftermath of the August 4th explosion.

Nonetheless, Nemr encouraged them to join the stream: “Tune in because we’re going to provide hope, and we’re going to provide the stream that you need.”

Notably, the initiative will take place in affiliation with the LRC, so all of the donations will go directly to the organization, without any gateway platforms or individuals, and in turn to the people who are in urgent need of aid at this time.

“I’d like to thank [the LRC] for everything they’ve done. They are true, true heroes who deserve our support — and need our support,” Nemr said.

Additional timezones for the event: 11 AM PST / 2 PM EST / 6 PM GMT / 7 PM UK / 10 PM Dubai.

The961 Foundation is raising funds for the Lebanese Red Cross to help them in their response to this tragic incident. To donate, click here.