Lebanese People Are Now Banned From Entering Saudi Arabia Till Further Notice

The Daily Star/Mohamad Azakir | @ellen__scenery

Saudi Arabia has suspended the entry of non-Saudi passengers coming from and 19 other countries.

The Saudi Interior Ministry announced the move on Tuesday, exempting diplomats, healthcare workers, as well as Saudi nationals, and their families.

The decision, which takes effect at 9 PM on Wednesday, comes in the framework of tightening measures to curb the spread of in the Kingdom, the Ministry said.

In addition to , the following countries are included in the new regulation:

  • Argentina
  • The UAE
  • Germany
  • The US
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Pakistan
  • Brazil
  • Portugal
  • The UK
  • Turkey
  • South Africa
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • France
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Japan

The ban also includes passengers coming from other countries if they had passed through any of the included countries in the past 14 days.

On Sunday, ’s flag carrier, Middle East Airlines, announced the suspension of flights to Saudi Arabia and canceled some of its flights to France, without specifying a reason for the decision.

had issued a warning for its citizens wishing to travel to Lebanon and some other countries in January due to health and security concerns.

Last week, the Saudi General Authority of Civil Aviation announced Lebanon-specific travel requirements.

We have a dedicated coronavirus section where you can find the latest news/updates about the pandemic in , inform yourself with WHO-verified resources, and track the number of cases in in real-time. Click here.