This Is Everyone Who Voted For/Against Hariri Becoming Prime Minister


is officially Lebanon’s prime minister-designate, as of October 22nd, just a year after his resignation amid October 17’s uprising, winning a slim majority of votes in parliament.

Hariri received the lowest number of votes approving his appointment in comparison to his former nominations. His surprising return was put in action by the votes of 65 MPs from across ’s political spectrum, including his own .

Other political parties that voted for Hariri were the Shia of , the Druze Progressive Socialist Party of Walid Jumblatt, and the Syrian Socialist Nationalist Party.

MPs affiliated with and Sleiman Frangieh were also among those who nominated him.

However, the people who voted against this decision numbered at 53. The political parties also came from different backgrounds and groups.

As expected, neither of the two main Christian parties of the country nominated Hariri: Samir Geagea’s Lebanese Forces, a former Hariri ally, and its rival Gebran Bassil’s .

The Consultative Gathering bloc of six Sunni MPs, which has earlier announced that it will not support Hariri’s designation, kept to its stance and did not nominate him.

The Iranian backed party also did not vote for Hariri. Weirdly enough, they have been among the most enthusiastic party for his return since his resignation on October 29th last year.

All in all, received the smallest number of votes in parliament compared with Diab’s 69 and Adib’s 90.

Our team works tirelessly to ensure Lebanese people have a reliable alternative to the politically-backed media outlets with their heavily-funded and dangerous propaganda machines. We've been detained, faced nonstop cyber attacks, censorship, attempted kidnapping, physical intimidation, and frivolous lawsuits draining our resources. Financial support from our readers keeps us fighting on your behalf. If you are financially able, please consider supporting The961's work. Support The961. Make a contribution now.